Fun Facts

  • Galobar, the winner of the first All American Futurity, was also the first horse nominated to the All American Futurity.
  • Moon Lark won the first All American Futurity with a $1 million purse in 1978.
  • Mr Master Bug won the first All American Futurity with a $2 million purse in 1982.
  • Owner Hugh Huntley and trainer Newt Keck teamed up to win three of the first five runnings of the All American Futurity.
  • The small town of Blanchard, Okla. has produced two All American Futurity winners—Decketta and Possumjet.
  • Trainer Jack Brooks record eight All American Futurity winners include at least one winner in the 1970s, 1980s, 1990s and 2000s.

Recent Winners

  • 2010 - Mr Piloto
    Owner: Tremor Enterprises LLC
    Trainer: Felipe Quintero
    Jockey: Esgar Ramirez
  • 2009 - Running Brook Gal
    Owner: A & C Racing and Roping
    Trainer: Paul Jones
    Jockey: Ramon Sanchez
  • 2008 - Stolis Winner
    Owner: Jerry Windham
    Trainer: Heath Taylor
    Jockey: G.R. Carter Jr.
  • 2007 - HeartsWideOpen
    Owner: Manny Rodriguez/Javier Rodriguez
    Trainer: Carl Draper
    Jockey: Oscar Hernandez
  • 2006 - No Secrets Here
    Owner: Vessels Stallion Farm/Benny Rosset
    Trainer: Paul Jones
    Jockey: Cody Jensen
  • 2005 - Teller Cartel
    Owner: Teller Cartel Syndicate
    Trainer: Paul Jones
    Jockey: Cody Jensen
  • 2004 - DM Shicago
    Owner: Don Moler/Fredda Draper
    Trainer: Carl Draper
    Jockey: Juan Vasquez
  • 2003 - By By JJ
    Owner: Rosella Anrin Prieto
    Trainer: Juan Gonzalez
    Jockey: J.J. Gonzales II
  • 2002 - AB What A Runner
    Owner: Dennie/Kris Hill
    Trainer: Bret Vickery
    Jockey: Jay Conklin
  • 2001 - Ausual Suspect
    Owner: TNT Racing
    Trainer: John Bassett
    Jockey: Dennis Means
  • 2000 - Eyesa Special
    Owner: Bell/Hill/Pitts
    Trainer: Jack Brooks
    Jockey: Jacky Martin
  • 1999 - A Delightful Dasher
    Owner: Gwendolyn Eaves
    Trainer: John Bassett
    Jockey: Joe Badilla
  • 1998 - Falling In Loveagain
    Owner: David/Susan Mackie
    Trainer: Jack Brooks
    Jockey: G.R. Carter Jr.
  • 1997 - Corona Cash
    Owner: Jaramar Ltd.
    Trainer: Donna McArthur
    Jockey: Tami Purcell

History of the All American Futurity

The All American
The All American

The Quarter Horse race that every owner, breeder, trainer and jockey wants to win is Ruidoso Downs’ signature event, the All American Futurity.

Run over 440 yards every Labor Day, the All American Futurity gained its lofty status through unique financial cooperation between the track and horsemen. Ruidoso Downs contributes “added money” to start the race’s purse, and then horse owners make payments to keep their young horses eligible. Many of these payments are made before the horse ever starts in a race. This system made the All American Futurity the world’s first $1-million race for any breed of horse and enabled the All American to become the first $2-million race in Quarter Horse racing.

Two races are considered the forerunners of the All American Futurity and both have their roots in Ruidoso. In 1946, a local watering hole called the Central Bar & Grill was having a marketing problem: How could the owners promote the casino located in the back room of the establishment at a time when casinos weren’t legal in New Mexico? The answer was to create a horse race and name it after the bar. The resulting Central Bar & Grill Futurity was an important race until the early 1950s when it disappeared, but it left a model for a successful event that continued as the Ruidoso Futurity (a different race than the current Ruidoso Futurity). That early version of the Ruidoso Futurity received widespread attention in 1955 when Go Man Go suffered his first defeat in the race.

In 1953, Gene Hensley bought a majority share of Ruidoso Downs and began looking for new ways to promote the track. Offering the richest race in Quarter Horse racing would surely define Ruidoso Downs. Along with Carl Mercer — who had developed a successful futurity in Southern California — and Ruidoso musician and promoter Ray Reed, Hensley created the All American Futurity. When it was inaugurated in 1959 with a purse of $129,686, the All American Futurity was the richest race ever held in Quarter Horse racing. The winner was the filly Galobar, who gave owner Hugh Huntley and trainer Newt Keck the first of their three wins in the first five runnings of the race.

Stolis Winner

Since then, many great performances have marked each decade of the All American Futurity. In 1969, Easy Jet captured the All American for breeder, owner and trainer Walter Merrick during a campaign in which the colt won 22 races in 26 starts and was named world champion. Easy Jet became the first All American winner to sire an All American winner when his daughter Easy Date won the race in 1974.

In 1978, the All American Futurity became the world’s first million-dollar horse race. The race also launched the fortunes of trainer Jack Brooks and jockey Jacky Martin, who teamed up to win with Moon Lark. Since then, Brooks and Martin have become the trainer and jockey with the most All American victories.

Another historic performance came in 1981 when Special Effort won the All American Futurity and became the first horse to capture the Triple Crown at Ruidoso Downs. Special Effort remains the only horse to sweep the three classic futurities held every summer at the track.

Refrigerator’s All American Futurity win in 1990 came at the start of a legendary career in which the gelding won a record three consecutive runnings of the Champion of Champions at Los Alamitos Race Course and earned two world champion titles.

In 2004, DM Shicago scored his first important victory with his All American Futurity win. The gelding returned the following summer to win the Ruidoso, Rainbow and All American derbies on his way to being named world champion.

AAFW © 2011